DMBIH 2019
The Eighth Workshop on Data Mining in Biomedical Informatics and Healthcare


Biographies of the Organizers:

Dr. Jie Zheng is an Associate Professor at the School of Information Science and Technology, ShanghaiTech University, Shanghai, China. He received his B. Eng (honors) in 2000 from Zhejiang University in China, and his Ph.D. in 2006 from the University of California, Riverside in USA, both in Computer Science. From 2006 to 2011, he was a Postdoctoral Research Associate at the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), National Library of Medicine (NLM), National Institutes of Health (NIH), USA. From Feb. 2011 to July 2018, he was an Assistant Professor at the School of Computer Science and Engineering, Nanyang Technological University (NTU), Singapore. His research interests include bioinformatics, computational genomics and systems biology, and biomedical data science. He develops novel computational methods (e.g. machine learning and data mining algorithms, artificial intelligence techniques, dynamical and data-driven models) to help answer biomedical questions.

Dr. Samah Jamal Fodeh has a dual appointment as associate research scientist at the Yale Center for Medical Informatics (YCMI) at Yale School of Medicine and the Veterans Administration (VA) in West Haven, CT. She received her M.S. and Ph.D. degrees in Computer Science from Michigan State University in 2006 and 2010, respectively. Her research has been supported by NIH and the VA. Her research interests include data mining, machine learning, information retrieval and information extraction.

Dr. Mohammad-Reza Siadat is an Associate Professor of Computer Science and Engineering at Oakland University. He is the founding director of Biomedical Computing (BMC) lab. He was with Henry Ford Health System from 2005 to 2007. In 2003 and 2004, he served as a consultant at Harper University Hospital. His research interests include biomedical image processing, biomedical informatics, and decision support systems.

Dr. Da Yan is an Assistant Professor in the Department of Computer Science at the University of Alabama at Birmingham. He received his Ph.D. (resp. B.S.) degree in Computer Science from the Hong Kong University of Science and Technology (Fudan University), and he is the winner of Hong Kong 2015 Young Scientist Award in Physical/Mathematical Science. He regularly publish research papers PVLDB, SIGMOD, SIGKDD, ICDE, IEEE TKDE, IEEE TPDS, etc. He serves in the program committee of SIGMOD 2019-2020, VLDB 2018, ICPP 2018 and IJCAI 2017, and serves as ad-hoc reviewers for ACM TODS, VLDB Journal, IEEE TKDE and IEEE TPDS. He is also the program co-chair of BIOKDD 2018 and a guest editor of IEEE/ACM TCBB.

Program Committee

  • Sameer Antani, U.S. National Library of Medicine, USA

  • Suzan Arslanturk, Wayne State University, USA

  • Abbas Babajani-Feremi, University of Tennessee, USA

  • Rita Casadio, University of Bologna, Italy

  • Hamidreza Chitsaz, Colorado State University, USA

  • Rosa Figueroa, University of Utah, USA

  • Adam Gaweda, University of Louisville, USA

  • Darrin Hanna, Oakland University, USA

  • Tae-Hyun Hwang, Cleveland Clinic Foundation, USA

  • Sumit-Kumar Jha, University of Central Florida, USA

  • Stefan Kramer, Johannes Gutenberg University, Germany

  • Sangkeun Lee, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA

  • Wen-Yang Lin, National University of Kaohsiung, Taiwan, China

  • Jinze Liu, University of Kentucky, USA

  • Douglas Redd, George Washington University, USA

  • Saeed Salem, North Dakota State University, USA

  • Hamid Soltanian-Zadeh, Henry Ford Health System, USA

  • Ying Ding, Indiana University, USA

  • Jie Zheng, ShanghaiTech University, China